Home/Free tools/Launch Image Size Checker
Select one or more images. For each file, see the pixel size, aspect ratio, file size, and type, then compare them with the asset specs launch and social platforms publish. The check runs in your browser.
Images are read in this browser. Nothing is uploaded.
Choose one or more images. The page reads width, height, the byte count, and the file type on this device. The file is not uploaded to Premium Launcher, and it is not sent to the launch or social site whose spec is being checked.
A launch set is usually more than one file. Product Hunt asks for a thumbnail and for gallery images. A link preview is a different image again. Run each file through the list instead of assuming one export covers every row.
Each row links to the official page it was taken from, with a checked October 2026 note. If that page does not publish a pixel size, an aspect ratio, a file-size cap, or a type list, the cell says not stated. Sizes from blogs and image generators are not used.
The Open Graph protocol requires an image URL and does not publish a pixel size. Facebook's link-share documentation does publish sizes for the image it reads from og:image. Those are separate rows, because a protocol with no size and a product doc with several sizes are not the same rule.
An X summary_large_image pixel size is not stated on the current X docs site. The old card-guide URL redirects to the docs home, and the docs sitemap does not list a replacement. X does publish post and DM upload limits. Those limits are labeled as uploads, not as the card.
Product Hunt's Help Center says a GIF thumbnail must be under 3MB. The launch guide, in the thumbnail section, says all images, GIF or not, need to be under 3MB. A PNG over that line is outside the guide. The Help Center does not state a file-size cap for that PNG.
LinkedIn's sharing-module page sets a minimum of 1200×627 and says an image less than 401 pixels wide displays as a thumbnail. The Page post preview page says the width must be more than 200 pixels, and that a width under 200 displays as a thumbnail. The photo-upload page is a third spec: at least 552×276, a recommended width of 1080, and an aspect range from 3:1 to 4:5.
Facebook's link-share images page says 1200×630 and a ratio close to 1.91:1. The sharing best-practices page says at least 1080 pixels wide for high-resolution display, and it recommends 1:1 for image link ad creatives. Bluesky's posts guide says 1,000,000 bytes in the prose and 2,000,000 bytes in the code sample. Mastodon's English posting guide, updated July 8, 2026, does not match the Japanese translation, updated January 31, 2025.
Where a page writes MB and does not define it, the result compares the file with 1,000,000 bytes and with 1,048,576 bytes per MB. It does not pick a unit the page did not name.
A file can meet a published minimum and still be cropped in a feed. Facebook says to stay close to 1.91:1 and does not publish a numeric tolerance, so this page shows the measured ratio and does not invent a pass band. 1200÷630 is about 1.905, which is not 1.91.
Pinterest's image Pin page states file types and a 20 MB web maximum. It does not state a pixel size. The standard image ad page recommends 2:3 or 1000×1500. Safe-zone padding on the Pin page has no canvas size, so it is not turned into a width and a height.
Aura++, EarlyHunt, IndieHunt, MakerHunt, SideHunt, and Uno Directory are not in the table. Their public submit pages did not include image pixel rules in the HTML returned for this check, and the forms render in the browser. A rule that appears only after sign-in is not guessed. Tagline length is on the launch copy character counter. A week of submissions is on the launch week planner. Directory fees are on the bulk launch cost calculator, and return math is on the launch ROI calculator. The platform list, pricing, and the other free tools are separate from these image rules.
Checked October 2026. Where a page does not publish a figure, the cell says not stated. If two official pages disagree, both rows stay.
| Asset | Dimensions | Aspect ratio | File size | Types | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Product Hunt thumbnail (Help Center)Help Center article dated May 28, 2025. GIFs animate on hover. Strobing GIFs may be edited. | Square is described as best. 240×240 is recommended. | Square. No other ratio is stated. | A GIF thumbnail must be under 3MB. A file-size cap for other thumbnail types is not stated. | GIF is named. Other types are not stated. | Product Hunt Help Center |
| Product Hunt thumbnail (launch guide)This file-size line is wider than the Help Center, which states 3MB for GIF thumbnails only. | Use square dimensions. 240×240 is recommended. | Square. No other ratio is stated. | All thumbnail images, GIF or not, need to be under 3MB. That sentence is in the thumbnail section. | GIF is discussed. A full type list is not stated. | Product Hunt launch guide |
| Product Hunt galleryBoth pages say the gallery needs 2 or more images before it is viewable. That is a count of images on the post. | 1270×760 recommended. No minimum or maximum is stated. | Not stated. 1270×760 reduces to 127:76. | Not stated on the gallery section. | Not stated. The launch guide says animated GIFs can be used. | Product Hunt Help CenterProduct Hunt launch guide |
| Open Graph imageog:image is a URL. The protocol page's example image is 400×300, which is an example, not a requirement. | Not stated. og:image:width and og:image:height are optional. | Not stated. | Not stated. | Not stated. og:image:type is an optional MIME type. | Open Graph protocol |
| Facebook link-share imageThe best-practices page publishes different width numbers. Both are listed. | Minimum allowed 200×200. At least 1200×630 for the best display on high-resolution devices. At least 600×315 for a larger link image. Smaller than 600×315 still displays, but much smaller. | Keep the image as close to 1.91:1 as possible. 1200×630 is 40:21, about 1.905:1, so the named ratio and the pixel size on this page are not the same. | Must not exceed 8 MB. The page does not define MB. | The webmaster guide says og:image:type is one of image/jpeg, image/gif, or image/png. | Facebook link-share imagesFacebook sharing for webmasters |
| Facebook sharing best practicesThis disagrees with the link-share images page, which says 1200×630 and 1.91:1. | At least 1080 pixels wide for the best display on high-resolution devices. At least 600 pixels wide for image link ads. Height is not stated for those two lines. | 1:1 is recommended for image link ad creatives. A feed ratio is not stated on this page. | Not stated. | Not stated on this page. | Facebook sharing best practices |
| Facebook game app imagesThis subsection is for game apps. 600×314 is an example of 1.91:1, and 600÷314 is about 1.911. | Open Graph story images should be 600×600. The other example given is 600×314. | Story images are square. Other game images should be 1.91:1, such as 600×314. | Not stated. | Not stated. | Facebook sharing best practices |
| X summary_large_image cardThe old card guide URL redirects to the X docs home. docs.x.com has no summary_large_image image-size page in its sitemap. Post upload limits below are a different spec. | Not stated. | Not stated. | Not stated. | Not stated. | X for websites overview |
| X post or DM imageA post can include up to 4 photos, 1 animated GIF, or 1 video. Animated GIFs are a separate row. | Not stated for still images. | Not stated for still images. | Images are 5 MB or under. The page does not define MB. Default and Premium accounts use the same image cap. | JPG, PNG, GIF, WEBP. | X media best practicesX media upload |
| X animated GIFThe 1280×1080, frame, and pixel-count lines are recommendations. The 15 MB line is in the image criteria list. | Recommendation: resolution at or under 1280×1080 (width × height), 350 frames or fewer, and width × height × frames at or under 300 million. | Not stated. | 15 MB or under. The page does not define MB. A GIF can still fail at post creation inside that size. | GIF, listed separately from still images. | X media best practices |
| LinkedIn sharing moduleThe Page preview article uses a 200px width floor instead of 401px, and it does not set 1200×627 as a minimum. | Minimum 1200×627. Images less than 401 pixels wide display as a thumbnail. | Recommended ratio 1.91:1. 1200÷627 is about 1.914, so the named ratio and the pixel minimum are not identical. | Max 5 MB. The page does not define MB. | Not stated for the sharing module. JPG, PNG, and GIF are listed under single image ads on the same page. | LinkedIn sharing module |
| LinkedIn Page link previewThe help page says it was last updated 2 years ago. It disagrees with the sharing-module minimum and the 401px thumbnail line. | Use 1200×627. Width must be more than 200 pixels. Under 200 pixels wide, it displays as a thumbnail. | 1.91:1 (1200×627). Other ratios show in full on mobile, with white padding. Desktop cropping is not given a separate pixel rule. | Not stated. | Not stated. | LinkedIn Page post preview |
| LinkedIn photo uploadThis is an uploaded photo, not the link-preview image. A post can hold up to 20 photos. The page says it was last updated 2 years ago. | At least 552×276. Recommended width is 1080 pixels. A recommended height is not stated. | From 3:1 to 4:5 (width:height). If the ratio is larger, the image is centered and cropped to the max ratio. | 5 MB upload limit. The page does not define MB. | Not stated. | LinkedIn photo posts |
| LinkedIn single image adSquare and vertical images might be cropped when ads are shared organically. Same help article as the sharing module. | Maximum 7680×4320. Landscape minimum 640×360, maximum 7680×4320. Square minimum 360×360, maximum 4320×4320. Vertical minimum 360×640, maximum 2340×4320. | Landscape recommended 1.91:1. Square 1:1. Vertical recommended 1:1.91. | Maximum 5 MB. The page does not define MB. | JPG, PNG, or GIF. Animated GIFs must be 300 frames or shorter. | LinkedIn sharing module |
| Pinterest image PinSafe-zone insets are published (top 270, left 65, right 195, bottom 790) without a canvas size, so they are not converted into a width and height. | Not stated. | Not stated for image Pins. Video Pins on the same page do list ratios. | Web: 20 MB maximum. Android and iOS: 1 GB recommended. The page does not define MB. | BMP, JPEG, PNG, TIFF, WEBP. | Pinterest Pin specs |
| Pinterest standard image adOther ad formats on this page (carousel, collections, idea, quiz) are not separate rows here. | 1000×1500 is the recommended size. | 2:3 is recommended. An aspect ratio greater than 2:3 might get cut off in feeds. | Desktop 20 MB maximum. In-app 32 MB maximum. The page does not define MB. | PNG or JPEG. | Pinterest ad specs |
| Mastodon image (English guide)English page last updated July 8, 2026. GIF files are a separate row. The Japanese translation still publishes older numbers. | Images are downscaled to 8.3 megapixels, described as enough for 3840×2160. | Not stated. | Up to 16MB. The page does not define MB. | PNG, JPG, HEIF, WEBP, AVIF. Up to 4 images per post. | Mastodon posting guide (English) |
| Mastodon GIF (English guide)1280×720 is 921,600 pixels, which is under 1,000,000. The checker uses less than 1,000,000 pixels for the 1MP line. | GIF dimensions must be less than 1MP. The page puts 1280×720 in parentheses. | Not stated. | Up to 16MB. The page does not define MB. | GIF. Static GIFs use the same limits as animated GIFs. One animated GIF per post. | Mastodon posting guide (English) |
| Mastodon image (Japanese guide)Japanese page last updated January 31, 2025. 1280×1280 is 1,638,400 pixels, which is more than 1,600,000. Both figures are on that sentence. | Downscaled to 1.6 megapixels. The page says that is enough for a 1280×1280 image. | Not stated. | Up to 8MB. The page does not define MB. | PNG, JPG, GIF. Up to 4 images. | Mastodon posting guide (Japanese) |
| Bluesky post imageUp to four images per post. The lexicon file that the guide cites was not available at the published GitHub path when this page was checked. | Not stated on the posts guide. | The embed stores the image's own aspect ratio. No required ratio is stated. | The prose says 1,000,000 bytes. The code sample on the same page rejects files over 2,000,000 bytes. Both are shown. | Not stated as a list. The sample upload uses image/png. | Bluesky posts guide |
| Slack classic unfurlSlack crawls Open Graph and X card metadata for a classic unfurl. It does not publish its own pixel size. | Not stated. | Not stated. | Not stated. | Not stated. | Slack link unfurling |
These checks do not change a directory's own rules. Premium Launcher is the license for premium launches on the six partner directories. See pricing for what the subscription includes.
No. The checker reads the file you select on this device. Width, height, file size, and type are measured in the browser. The image is not uploaded to Premium Launcher and is not sent to Product Hunt, Facebook, LinkedIn, X, or the other sites in the table.
The thumbnail and the gallery. The Help Center says a square thumbnail is best, recommends 240×240, and says a GIF thumbnail must be under 3MB. The launch guide says to use square dimensions, recommends 240×240, and says all thumbnail images, GIF or not, need to be under 3MB. Both pages recommend gallery images at 1270×760. A gallery file-size cap is not stated on the gallery section. The gallery needs two or more images before it is viewable, which is a count of files on the post.
No. ogp.me does not publish a pixel size, aspect ratio, or file-size cap for og:image. Facebook's link-share images page says the minimum allowed dimension is 200×200, the file must not exceed 8 MB, to use at least 1200×630 for the best high-resolution display, and at least 600×315 for a larger link image, and to stay close to 1.91:1. The sharing best-practices page instead says at least 1080 pixels wide for that high-resolution display, at least 600 pixels wide for image link ads, and recommends 1:1 for ad creatives. The webmaster guide says og:image:type is one of image/jpeg, image/gif, or image/png. 1200×630 is 40:21, about 1.905:1, so it is not exactly 1.91:1.
They cite different LinkedIn help pages. The sharing-module page sets a minimum of 1200×627, a 5 MB maximum, a recommended ratio of 1.91:1, and says images less than 401 pixels wide display as a thumbnail. The Page post preview page says to use 1.91:1 at 1200×627, says the width must be more than 200 pixels, and says a width under 200 displays as a thumbnail. The photo upload page is separate: a 5 MB limit, at least 552×276, a recommended width of 1080 pixels, and an aspect range from 3:1 to 4:5. The same sharing article also publishes single image ad sizes, which are listed on their own row.
A pixel size, aspect ratio, and file-size cap for summary_large_image are not stated on the current X docs site. The old card guide URL redirects to the docs home, and that path is not in the docs sitemap. X does publish upload limits for a post or DM image: JPG, PNG, GIF, and WEBP at or under 5 MB, and animated GIFs at or under 15 MB, with further GIF recommendations on the media best-practices page. Those are upload limits. They are not labeled as the card spec.
No. The subscription does not change image rules on Product Hunt, Facebook, LinkedIn, X, Pinterest, Mastodon, Bluesky, or Slack. What the license includes is on the pricing page.

One License Key. Six Platforms. Premium Launches.
Get a license key that works across all 6 platforms. Activate it on each platform to unlock bulk submissions and submit premium launches.
Built by the Aura++ Team
@ Aura++ - 2026